Webster School, former District 14
Webster is a one-room log structure completed in 1889, measuring 16' by 20', built by Martin K. Erickson for a cost of $140.00, and had handmade shingles for its roof. It was originally located on County Road 18 in Comfort Township.
The first term of school beginning May 10, 1889 was taught by Alexis Ramgren, and the term lasted for three months.
In 1899 the log building was replaced by a more "modern" brick structure. Following its service as a school, the log building was used as a teacherage, an immigrant cabin, and finally as an animal shelter.
Marvin Dresler, on whose property the log building was located originally, donated it to the History Center in 1981. The building was moved to the History Center grounds and was restored in order to make it usable as an exhibit.
The Webster School would not exist today if it had not been relocated to the Kanabec History Center grounds. Time and vandalism would have destroyed the structure. As one of the oldest existing buildings in the county the experience of walking through the door of Webster is truly taking a step back in time. Maintenance and repairs are on going expenditures. Your donations will ensure that these buildings are here for future generations to enjoy!